Kappa Lambda Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. Awards Scholarships to High School Graduates

Each year the Kappa Lambda chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. in Greensboro, N.C. provides at least seven scholarships valued at $1,000 each to deserving African-American males in Guilford County Schools through its Educational Foundation.

Applicants must be a graduating senior and must enroll in a four-year College or University immediately upon graduating from high school. In addition, the applicants must have a minimum 3.0 GPA (weighted) and submit a two-page double-spaced typed essay. This year, the essay prompt was What is your interpretation of “With liberty and justice for all” and do you feel that as an African American male that liberty and justice are freely given to you?

We were excited to interview approximately 15 well-deserving scholarship candidates. Each applicant had impressive academic achievements, leadership roles, and outstanding service to our communities. Bro. Dr. Jason J. Caldwell, Chair of the Scholarship Committee stated, “The applicants this year were motivated, engaged, and wonderful examples of academic excellence and community service, and we are thrilled to be able to award each of these seven gentlemen a $1,000 scholarship.”

The final seven recipients were:
• Brandon Speight- Caldwell Academy (Hampton University)
• Jaquez Boyd- Kearns Academy (Pfeiffer University)
• Ian Tom Johnson- Dudley High School (UNC-Charlotte)
• Brendan Norfleet- Ragsdale High School (UNC-Charlotte)
• Gregory Williams- Grimsley High School (UNC-Charlotte)
• Kema Leonard- Northwest Guilford High School (High Point University)
• Emmanuel Makoya- Eastern Guilford High School (Florida International University)

Due to school closures as a result of COVID-19, the annual scholarship luncheon was cancelled. The  scholarship recipients will receive an electronic certificate, and the scholarship money will be sent directly to the recipients’ college or university for the Fall 2020 semester.

Thank you to the following committee members: Bro. Dr. Jason J. Caldwell, chair, Bro. Joseph Johnson, Bro. Troy Elbert Bro. Dr. Manuel Dudley, and Bro. Brandon Burney.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *